DOI DevOps – Continuous Delivery Architect Certificate Program (CDA℠)

All courses listed are available in a Self-Paced Study Format. Courses are also available On Demand, meaning the course can be scheduled and delivered as a dedicated corporate group session, based on a minimum number of students per session. For On Demand courses, please contact us for more information.

Course Overview

A continuous delivery architect is a tool-agnostic individual engaged in the design, implementation, and management of DevOps deployment pipelines and toolchains that support Continuous Integration, Continuous Delivery, Continuous Testing and, potentially, Continuous Deployment. A continuous delivery architect is also involved in defining or integrating underpinning processes, metrics, APIs and cultural considerations.

The DOI (DevOps Institute) DevOps Continuous Delivery Architect program prepares IT Professionals with the broad-based competencies required to architect and orchestrate effective and efficient automated deployment pipeline.


  • There is no formal pre-requisite certification for this course, however some basic knowledge on DevOps (e.g. DevOps Foundation level training), Lean, Agile and/or IT Service Management would be helpful for the learner
  • Successfully passing the 40 multiple choice questions, 90 minutes; Blooms Taxonomy levels 1, 2 and 3 exam leads to the DevOps Delivery Architect certificate. Passing mark is a minimum of 65% (26 out of 40)
  • Successful exam candidates will be designated as “Continuous Delivery Architects” and will be issued a certificate and digital badge.


This is a 2 day course when run as an instructor-led course, with an exam voucher issued for students to schedule their exams at a date/time/location that is convenient for them once the course has completed.


The main target group for this DOI DevOps® Intermediate Qualification Certificate includes, but is not restricted to:

  • Enterprise architects
  • Software developers
  • Build engineers
  • Release managers and engineers
  • Operational and infrastructure teams
  • Security professionals
  • Testers and QA managers
  • IT Managers
  • Project Managers
  • Maintenance and support staff

Program Objective

The learning objectives for DevOps Continuous Delivery Architecture (CDA) include a practical understanding of:

  • The principles of Continuous Integration and Continuous Deployment
  • Continuous Delivery vs. DevOps Continuous Integration practices
  • Extending Continuous Integration to Continuous Deployment
  • Principles for architecting a deployment pipeline
  • Engaging Ops in Continuous Delivery
  • Testing and continuous delivery
  • Security and continuous delivery
  • Continuous deployment and automated release
  • Cultural and people consideration
  • Change resistance
  • Metrics Critical Success Factors, Risks, and Challenges
  • Getting started

Program Material

  • Online access to the course content for a 12 month period
  • 2 hours of coaching time, to be arranged between the student and the accredited trainer/coach
  • Sample exam
  • Certification exam voucher


Although not mandatory, it is recommended you obtain at your own cost, the “DevOps Handbook” to increase your chances of success in achieving the CDA certification, as well as using the publication as a reference for your future DevOps projects.

  • “The DevOps Handbook”: How to Create World-Class Agility, Reliability, and Security in Technology Organizations
    • Gene Kim, Jez Humble, Patrick Debois, John Willis
    • ISBN-10: 1942788002
    • ISBN-13: 978-1942788003
    • IT Revolution Press; 1 edition (2016)